Finlay Smyth

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Student
  • Scotland

Posted 10 February 2018 - 10:05 AM

Hi I'm a student in Scotland. I'm looking to partly 3d print and machine my own super 16mm camera, preferably silent. I have the machinery and materials its mainly about documentation and info, there doesn't seem to be too much of it out there. The main problem I can see just now is the view finder, everything should be alright to figure.

Can't wait to hear back. Finlay

#2 Dan Hasson

Dan Hasson
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Director
  • London

Posted 10 February 2018 - 10:38 AM

Is it not cheaper to buy a 16mm camera?

Also what kind of 16mm camera do you want to make? Something similar to an Arri 416, SR3, or a camera like a Bolex? 

You make it sound like making this camera is pretty simple? I do not actually know if it is or it is not, I just thought it would not be as simple as 3D printing one...

#3 Michael Rodin

Michael Rodin
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Moscow

Posted 10 February 2018 - 11:57 AM

I'd rather convert a regular 16mm Arri SR to S16 if I had access to a precision mill and lathe and wanted to save money on a silent camera.

Building even a simple MOS camera will be much, much more expensive than buying one. Take the seemingly simple pressure plate - you'd have to mill it from high-carbon steel (which might also need tempering/leaving etc) to a micron-range tolerance and polish with optical-grade precision. It's all highly precise, often requires special alloys, and I doubt you can 3d print anything other than magazines. And forget about self-blimped...

#4 Samuel Berger

Samuel Berger
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1229 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Seattle

Posted 10 February 2018 - 01:01 PM

I'd rather convert a regular 16mm Arri SR to S16 if I had access to a precision mill and lathe and wanted to save money on a silent camera.