Jon O'Brien
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Other
  • Brisbane

Posted 12 August 2017 - 05:36 PM

"Shane" (1953), you read it right.

Watched this recently and adored the look, especially interior and night time exteriors of 'Joe's' cabin. I'm curious, I'm not a pro, I'm here to learn.

I don't know what the original prints of this picture would have looked like, but the image on my tv was beautiful. Very warm, like an oil painting. Wonderful lighting. The night scenes outside the cabin were I think sets in some cases. The interior cabin scenes were wonderfully lit, with candles and kerosene lamps.

How would these scenes have been lit, what might have been the type of film stock, lenses, etc? Anyone have any opinions on it? Just curious.

#2 Tyler Purcell

Tyler Purcell
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3706 posts
  • Other
  • Los Angeles

Posted 12 August 2017 - 05:49 PM

I believe Shane was mostly a studio shoot, minus a few real exteriors. So all of those night time and indoor shots were in a sound stage. Back then, film stocks were not sensitive at all, so filmmakers had to use a lot of light. Also at the time, there was an unwritten rule that your leading man or woman, needed to be seen perfectly and clearly. So things were very over-lit and even dark scenes, had dozens of huge, multi-thousnd watt arc lamps lighting them. They would focus lights on certain areas and use metal flags and other deflection devices to restrict the light in order to create light and dark sections. Though if you look carefully, you'll notice that even the dark sections, have detail.