Nicholas Johnson

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Other
  • London

Posted 07 November 2018 - 04:54 AM

Hello everyone, If this has been covered in a previous post please link, I was unable to find much on a few cursory searches.

I am requesting advice or suggestions for a good lab who I can send Super 8 cartridges to for processing, telecine, and most importantly good quality post and colour grading.

I am based in the UK (London). Normally I rely on someone local who hand-process the film and does all the post for me. I have always been very happy with his work, but I'm interested to see what kind of results I can get from a 'lab'.

I am aware of Andec in Berlin ( andecfilm.de ) and the S8 Reversal Lab in the Netherlands ( super8.nl ). Though I have no experience with their service or even if they provide a Grading/Post service.

Anyway, I am requesting suggestions, based on experience, of good labs. I'm happy to ship internationally NY, LA etc. for good results. Ideally it would stay EU though.

Keep in mind, I am not seeking cinematic quality, for me the decision to use Super8 has always been a point a shoot, in camera, portable film format, so I am not seeking perfection.

My main concern is over levels of noise and uneven exposures which I feel might be remedied with a higher quality transfer and greater attention to detail in the grading process (never mind my lack of attention to these details during the filming).

I sincerely appreciate your advice, suggestions and shared knowledge.

All the best

Edited by Nicholas Johnson, 07 November 2018 - 04:55 AM.

#2 Pavan Deep

Pavan Deep
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 378 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • UK

Posted 07 November 2018 - 06:05 AM

Have you tried Cinelab London in Slough or the Kodak Lab in Pinewood.

Pav

#3 Nicholas Johnson

Nicholas Johnson

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Other
  • London

Posted 07 November 2018 - 06:48 AM