4 replies to this topic

#1 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19490 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 19 April 2017 - 11:42 PM

I've written about this film before... and I just posted these new comments on Facebook tonight but they are more suited to this forum.

One of my guilty pleasures is the mini-series "Wagner" starring Richard Burton and photographed by Vittorio Storaro. I'm one of the few people I know who watched the 8-hour 10-episode version that aired on the old Z Channel multiple times (because I taped it on VHS). It's not a glamorous portrait, Burton plays Wagner basically as a narcissist jerk and the screenplay by Charles Wood is rather elliptical with a meandering style (he wrote some Richard Lester movies like "Help!" and "The Bed-Sitting Room" and this has that sort of muttering non-sensical but almost musical dialogue at times). But as a college student, I fell in love with Storaro's lighting and the locations across Europe where it was shot.  There was a version cut down to 3 hours that plays sometimes on TV.

I have a 4x3 PAL DVD of the 8-hour version from the 1990's and was thinking of replacing it with the NTSC version just so I wasn't forced to play it on my region-free DVD player, but a newer transfer came out in 2011 that claims it was "mastered in HDTV in a widescreen transfer approved by the director", released in standard def DVD unfortunately.  So I just bought it.

I compared to the two transfers and the new one has its own problems. The original transfer looked like it was from one of Storaro's ENR prints, so very high in contrast but this 2011 one looks like a transfer from an old IP or low-con print and its not any cleaner in terms of dust problems.  The contrast is more natural but some scenes are transferred to light and now looked washed-out.  I had sort of gotten used to the old transfer with huge parts of the frame falling into black all the time.