New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • 2nd Assistant Camera
  • London

Posted 30 March 2018 - 04:46 AM

Hi,

I'm Ben, a learning camera assistant who chose not to study film and is now catching up on production etiquette and techniques!

I recently pulled focus on a short film for a great DoP (Tansy Simpson) here in London and at one point she asked me to push the iris to a 'two plus'

Now i assumed this meant something like a t2.1, or did it mean 2.5? I'd love to get clarification on this as I was too worried she might think I was an amateur if i asked!

Thanks in advance for any help offered,

Benjamin

#2 Mark Dunn

Mark Dunn
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2832 posts
  • Other
  • London

Posted 30 March 2018 - 04:50 AM

Why didn't you ask, what did you actually do, and what makes you think she doesn't read this forum anyway?

#3 Phil Rhodes

Phil Rhodes
  • Sustaining Members
  • 12338 posts
  • Other

Posted 30 March 2018 - 04:56 AM

I've never heard that one either, though I don't believe I've ever specifically been paid as a camera assistant. I'd have asked.

#4 Benjamin Leggett

Benjamin Leggett

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • 2nd Assistant Camera
  • London

Posted 30 March 2018 - 04:58 AM

It was a very low budget, tightly scheduled shoot and the DoP who is also my friend was worrying about a lot of things as a result of shortcomings in other departments. Adding another worry ("My 1ac doesn't know basic set lingo") to her list didn't really appeal. I was confident that putting the iris between 2 and a 2.8 would give her the stop she wanted, but I'd like clarification. I'd actually be comfortable asking her now the shoot is over! But she's in LA, and I wanted to try this forum... which I would not be surprised she used herself! (Busted?)

#5 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7502 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 30 March 2018 - 09:02 AM