Stasha

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Student
  • Chicago, IL

Posted 10 November 2005 - 12:29 PM

as a total beginner I need to make a short film. I am willing to spent aprx. $4500 for camera and accessories but I can't choose for months which one should I take. HD or VD, like Sony HDR-FX1 or canon xl2? ...and how complicated is to transfer everything for short film?

as someone who didn't use these cameras at all and had opportunity only to shoot on regular student cameras, but I am fast learner, please, please, please advise me what would be the best choice for me. IF you have any better ideas I am more than happy to hear.

Posted Image

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 10 November 2005 - 01:11 PM

Just depends on if you want more resolution versus 24P capability. Personally, I'd take the Canon XL2 or DVX100B over the Sony HDV camera if I want more of the film look that 24P provides, especially if I lived and worked in an NTSC country. Or I'd get the 720P JVC HDV camera or wait for the Panasonic HVX200.

The Sony HDV camera does not shoot progressive-scan so you really get a sharper image than NTSC or PAL... that still looks like classic video (don't mess with the fake 24P option called 24F in the camera.)

But if you're determined to shoot and edit HD using the Sony camera, then at least get the 50i version of the Sony HDV camera since 50i converts better to 25P for a transfer to film, rather than converting 60i/1080 HDV to 24P for a film-out. If you live in a PAL country, working with 50i material shouldn't be a problem.

It would be nice if you signed your post with a real name and the country you're living in, if not the city.

Edited by David Mullen, 10 November 2005 - 01:13 PM.

#3 dancordle

dancordle
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts
  • Director

Posted 10 November 2005 - 01:16 PM