#1 A.Oliver

A.Oliver
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Other
  • Croydon UK

Posted 13 November 2005 - 01:21 PM

Hi, not sure where to post the question, so i'll try here. I have been using kodachrome for a few years now. When required i ride the aperature to give best exposure. Have been using neg stocks on and off for some time, do i need to ride the exposure on neg film. Say i am panning from T8 to T5.6, is there any need to ride the iris, set the iris midway or set to T8 and let the printer or T/K to make the adjustments.
THANKS
Andy

#2 Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4708 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Europe

Posted 13 November 2005 - 02:04 PM

Hi, not sure where to post the question, so i'll try here. I have been using kodachrome for a few years now. When required i ride the aperature to give best exposure. Have been using neg stocks on and off for some time, do i need to ride the exposure on neg film. Say i am panning from T8 to T5.6, is there any need to ride the iris, set the iris midway or set to T8 and let the printer or T/K to make the adjustments.
THANKS
Andy

Hi,

With just +/- 1/2 stop you don't need to worry. When there is a big change then it works well.

Stephen

#3 A.Oliver

A.Oliver
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Other
  • Croydon UK

Posted 13 November 2005 - 02:17 PM

Hi,

With just +/- 1/2 stop you don't need to worry. When there is a big change then it works well.

Stephen

So its best to ride the iris?

#4 Fran Kuhn

Fran Kuhn
  • Sustaining Members
  • 352 posts
  • Other

Posted 13 November 2005 - 02:17 PM

THANKS
Andy

I'd avoid riding the aperture if possible, especially with only a 1-stop exposure change and especially since you're using negative stock, which has much greater latitude than Kodachrome. I tried doing it years ago and my Telecine guy had to go practically frame-by-frame to patch up my work.