#1 Jason Eitelbach

Jason Eitelbach
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Student

Posted 13 November 2005 - 07:48 PM

Hello,

I'm a film student at the University of Texas at Austin and I'm DPing a western short that's shooting in mid Feb. We want to shoot 35mm anamorphic. I've shot 35mm projects but never with anamorphic lenses, we have a Arri BL-4s and 35-III.

We're looking for a "classic" look i.e. very warm colors, monotones almost and we want to use the unique lens flares creatively so panavision primos are probably to well corrected to give us those cool flares.

Any suggestions where we could rent PL anamorphics especially close to the southwest (maybe the other LA, louisiana?)

Panavision may also be an option, so any descriptions of Panavision anamorphics would help. Oh and what about zooms? How good/bad are they? Most of the film I'm planning to shoot at a deep stop, but speed could be a factor on a few nighttime interiors. I want to have as agile of a camera package as I can. We'll have a small crew so a zoom depending on how huge anamorphic zoom lenses are it might really help.

Any help would be great. I'm very excited about this film both because we have some incredible Texas landscapes to photograph and it will be the first that I've had any real prep time to shoot a short.

thanks,
je

--
"To make films is horrible, hopeless, thankless, atrocious, and frustrating,
like a mortal sin. But it?s also marvelous and gives me great pleasure. Many
times, after finishing a film, I would like to never make another. But something
mysterious, some demon, compels me, obligates me to continue making films."
-Arturo Ripstein

#2 Tim J Durham

Tim J Durham
  • Sustaining Members
  • 742 posts
  • Director
  • East Coast, Baby!

Posted 13 November 2005 - 08:36 PM

Any suggestions where we could rent PL anamorphics especially close to the southwest (maybe the other LA, louisiana?)

thanks,
je

Hi,
Call this guy:

http://www.austinfil...hop_contact.htm