Macro to 50mm can it be done?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Allyn Laing

Allyn Laing
  • Guests

Posted 21 November 2005 - 09:31 AM

I have an obscure shot in mind and I wonder if it can be done?

The shot starts as a macro of the pupil(Black fills the entire screen) in an eye then moves out to reveal the person in a Mid. Is there a lens system that can do this or is it a combination of lenses?

Does the frazier lens system give this effect?

regards,

Allyn

#2 Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4708 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Europe

Posted 21 November 2005 - 09:44 AM

I have an obscure shot in mind and I wonder if it can be done?

The shot starts as a macro of the pupil(Black fills the entire screen) in an eye then moves out to reveal the person in a Mid. Is there a lens system that can do this or is it a combination of lenses?

Does the frazier lens system give this effect?

regards,

Allyn

Hi,

A motion control could help. Its easier in S16 than 35mm as you wouldl be closer than 1:1 in 35. Usually these shots need help in post, from zooming in, in telecine to a 3d take over

Stephen

#3 Allyn Laing

Allyn Laing
  • Guests

Posted 21 November 2005 - 09:55 AM

Hi,

A motion control could help. Its easier in S16 than 35mm as you wouldl be closer than 1:1 in 35. Usually these shots need help in post, from zooming in, in telecine to a 3d take over

Stephen

thanks stephen I'm planning to shoot in S16? I'm also unsure of what ratio to use what difference does 2.5:1 compared to 1:1?

Allyn.

#4 Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4708 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Europe

Posted 21 November 2005 - 10:44 AM

thanks stephen I'm planning to shoot in S16? I'm also unsure of what ratio to use what difference does 2.5:1 compared to 1:1?

Allyn.

Hi,