#1 Steven Budden

Steven Budden
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Other
  • San Francisco

Posted 28 November 2005 - 07:00 PM

I just got some old rolls of Kodachrome II with a camera. By old I mean the box says process by 'May, 1969'. I've heard that Kodachrome lasts a really long time, but what might be wrong with this film if I shoot and process it? I'm an experimental filmmaker so I don't mind an unconventional look, but I was just wondering if I could get a vague idea of what that look might be? Does it tend to go red?

Also, one of the boxes is kodachrome II photoflood. Is this the same as tungsten? What filter do I use to enable me to use photoflood film in daylight?

Thanks!

Steven

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 28 November 2005 - 09:33 PM

It's a Type A film balanced for photoflood illumination (3400K). So an 85A or 85 filter (same thing for most filter makers) converts daylight (5500K) to 3400K. A slightly more orange 85B filter converts 5500K to 3200K.

Edited by David Mullen, 28 November 2005 - 09:33 PM.

#3 Steven Budden

Steven Budden
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Other
  • San Francisco

Posted 29 November 2005 - 01:28 AM

It's a Type A film balanced for photoflood illumination (3400K). So an 85A or 85 filter (same thing for most filter makers) converts daylight (5500K) to 3400K. A slightly more orange 85B filter converts 5500K to 3200K.

Thanks. So it may be safe to use such old film? i've heard of people using 10 year old Kodachrome that came out just fine, but not this old...

Steven

#4 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 29 November 2005 - 01:35 AM

John Pytlak of Kodak could tell you if the processing of 1969 Kodachrome has been altered or whether it was the K14 process back then.