#1 Tim Shim

Tim Shim
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 02 December 2005 - 12:16 AM

Hi all,

I'm new to the Super 8 format and I'm interested in it as a means to cut cost for personal film projects.

I've been surveying the market for costs and to my surprise, it seems like shooting Super 8 isn't as cheap as I would've expected. Please correct me if I'm wrong, guys!

For example, I checked out Film Emporium and a can of 50ft Vision2 200T Super 8mm stock costs $17.50. This would add up to $140 for 400ft of film. Equivalently, Vision2 200T 16mm (400ft) costs $132 ($0.33/ft). More expensive for Super 8?? What gives?

Ok, I just found this out, maybe this is where the benefit comes in: For Super 8 I understand that 50ft of film shooting time is about 2mins 30secs. So say for 400ft, that would give me about 20mins shooting time. That's about 2x more than 16mm which runs about 11mins for 400ft.

Is this price/shooting time the major cost-saver in shooting Super 8 vs 16?

Also, another thing I'm very surprised at is the cost of processing. Well, I wouldn' say I researched this thoroughly cos I only checked out the rate at Bonofilm so let me know if this isn't the 'average' cost of processing Super 8. Referring to this page here http://www.bonofilm.com/pricelist.pdf.

Super 8 processing costs $21.50 per cartridge. That's 50ft. Let's assume I shot 400ft. That would cost me $172 for processing Super 8. Now, for 16mm - 400ft processing costs $68 ($0.17/ft).

Where is the savings there and then??!! That's a huge cost difference!! Even if I halved the cost of processing adjusting for running time differences, the cost of processing Super 8 is $86 (half of $172). Which is nowhere near the cost savings I'd expect from the little format.

Am I getting something wrong or is shooting Super 8 just as expensive as shooting 16mm - without considering camera rental and other filmmaking equipment, of course.