#1 Herbert

Herbert

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Director

Posted 14 December 2005 - 06:28 AM

I'm working on a project that requires shooting against greenscreen. I'm new to this and time is running out for me. I only have little time to do any research. Perhaps some of you can help me out here.

What are the pros and cons using HDV (HVR-z1) when it comes to shooting a greenscreen?

Are there any procedures that I can follow as a check list or guildline when I do this?

Is it true that I should lite my subject 1st before working on my backdrop?

If a waveform monitor is no availible, how do I use a light meter correctly to make sure my greenscreen is evenly lite?

I appreciate for the help

herbert

#2 Jay Gladwell

Jay Gladwell
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Miami, FL

Posted 15 December 2005 - 07:56 AM

Herbert, do a search using the keyword "greenscreen" and you'll find what you need.

#3 Tim Shim

Tim Shim
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 15 December 2005 - 11:46 AM

I'm working on a project that requires shooting against greenscreen. I'm new to this and time is running out for me. I only have little time to do any research. Perhaps some of you can help me out here.

What are the pros and cons using HDV (HVR-z1) when it comes to shooting a greenscreen?

Are there any procedures that I can follow as a check list or guildline when I do this?

Is it true that I should lite my subject 1st before working on my backdrop?

If a waveform monitor is no availible, how do I use a light meter correctly to make sure my greenscreen is evenly lite?

I appreciate for the help

herbert

I'll try to help to the best of my knowledge.

HDV Pros - Resolution
HDV Cons - Compression, 4:1:1 Color Space (Less color/chroma information)

As noted by Jay, do a search for procedures/guidelines for shooting greenscreen. HDV is similar to DV so read where applicable.