#1 Chris Hurn

Chris Hurn
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Student

Posted 22 December 2005 - 05:25 AM

Hey guys.

I was just wondering, what sort of price will I be looking at for a used (ebay or similar) 16mm camera that is quiet? I'm a high school student (final year), and I'm really keen to try some actual film. Right now I'm just doing some research on super8, 16mm etc.

It would be nice to have something that's quiet. I'm not looking for a new model or anything, but something that is reliable.

If this isn't at all possible, then I guess my next question would be what's a good 16mm camera to begin with? I've been reading things like some 16mm cameras people are buying have 20 second limits and all sorts of things. I don't want limits like that, if possible!

Also, if I have this right...for black and white film I'd probably be looking at roughly $20-25 for 100ft...which is like 2 minutes, correct? Which would mean if I wanted to shoot a 5 minute film, and had lots of rehersals etc. I could probably squeeze a 3:1 ratio, so maybe like 700ft of film? (roughly)

Thank you, and I appologize for my complete lack of knowledge on the subject, I'm just starting out.

-Chris

Edited by Chris Hurn, 22 December 2005 - 05:28 AM.

#2 Michael Carter

Michael Carter
  • Guests

Posted 22 December 2005 - 12:26 PM

Quiet cameras that run endlessly in sync cost the most.

However, I have a Bolex H-16 RX1 that a local, Pittsburgh PA, camera tech serviced a little bit and it is now quiet. I never heard a Bolex so quiet. Usually they sound like an old sewing machine. Other Bolex cameras are louder because they have not been properly cleaned and lubricated. That is something to have done to ANY and all cameras.