Cinematographer and director..differences?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 filmgirl

filmgirl
  • Guests

Posted 28 December 2005 - 03:00 AM

A friend and I were talking, and my friend asked why someone would choose to be a director rather than a cinematographer/DP because he couldn't really see a big difference between the two positions. I wasn't able to really articulate that well the differences as I have no real practical experience at all and am just beginning to take an interest; I obviously didn't make the demarcation well enough because it's still hazy to me, too. I know a director is the one with the vision, and he has to articulate that vision through shots...but that's also what a DP does, right? I'd be interested to know what experienced people here have to say about this. :) Thank you for your time.

Edited by filmgirl, 28 December 2005 - 03:02 AM.

#2 Lars.Erik

Lars.Erik
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Steadicam Operator
  • Oslo

Posted 28 December 2005 - 05:20 AM

The director has to in addition to thinking about how the film is shot, also have to think about EVERYTHING else on a set. He/she directs the actors, decides on the pacing, both on screen and in the editing room. The director reads the script and decides how he/she will tell this story. This person is responsible how the story is told, that the audience will understand what is happening. A film, in many ways, happens around the director.

The DP is responsible for the visual part of the film. Lighting, colour, exposure, movement etc.

In short, the director has a hell of a lot more to think about than the DP. That's why I'm a DP. I know I'd never could becom a director. It's too tough. So yes, there is a BIG difference between the two.

#3 G . Stephen Bruno

G . Stephen Bruno
  • Guests

Posted 28 December 2005 - 11:32 AM

as quick as as you can list those who have converged........

#4 filmgirl

filmgirl
  • Guests