6 replies to this topic

#1 Evan Cox

Evan Cox
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Director

Posted 01 January 2006 - 04:37 AM

Hello, I am new to the film world, and I am wondering which way to go. I have heard that reversal is better for amatures because once processed it is ready for projection, and that negative is more for professionals who wish to edit their work. I am the amature that wishes to edit my work. Is it true that when you get negative film developed, you get both a negative, and a positive roll? Please help me, I am confused. Happy new year.

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19769 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 01 January 2006 - 10:30 AM

Hello, I am new to the film world, and I am wondering which way to go. I have heard that reversal is better for amatures because once processed it is ready for projection, and that negative is more for professionals who wish to edit their work. I am the amature that wishes to edit my work. Is it true that when you get negative film developed, you get both a negative, and a positive roll? Please help me, I am confused. Happy new year.

Depends on how you are going to edit it.

(1) If on a computer, you can transfer either negative or reversal to video -- the negative image is just electronically turned into a correct positive one in the transfer. Then you'd digitize the video into your computer.

(2) If you plan on editing on film (using a flatbed or upright editor, splicing tape, etc.) then you need a workprint made off of the processed negative. So you'd drop the shot film off at the lab and order both a negative processing and a print to be made off of the negative.

Negative has more exposure latitude, a more natural contrast -- reversal has a very high contrast and needs to be exposed accurately, with little margin for error.

#3 Evan Cox

Evan Cox
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Director

Posted 01 January 2006 - 11:04 PM