Summer Cinematography Education

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 r2p2

r2p2
  • Guests

Posted 02 January 2006 - 09:19 AM

NYU?s Summer Enrollment offers a selection of cinematography courses to take; however, as I consider instruction there, can anyone suggest another summer cinematography course in New York or New Jersey that would be slightly less expensive? For NYU, it is $934 per point, and the cinematography courses are at least 3 points, as well as another fee over $400 for insurance and the lab use. Do I have to necessarily have university instruction, or could I look into a professional mentorship?

I am a freshman college student studying architecture, so the cost of the course does affect my ability to take it.

Recommendations and experiences are all helpful, thank you for your time.

#2 Chien Huey

Chien Huey
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • New York, NY

Posted 10 January 2006 - 08:29 AM

NYU’s Summer Enrollment offers a selection of cinematography courses to take; however, as I consider instruction there, can anyone suggest another summer cinematography course in New York or New Jersey that would be slightly less expensive? Do I have to necessarily have university instruction, or could I look into a professional mentorship?

Try SVA's continuing education division. http://www.schoolofv...ndex.jsp?sid0=3 Do the course search under the "Film and Video" department. I took three classes there "Intro to Filmmaking" $745, "Art of Editing" $545, and "Cinematography and Lighting" $705. All these classes meet once a week for 3 hours.

Out of those "Intro to Filmmaking" and "Cinematography and Lighting" are relevant to your question.