#1 James Steven Beverly

James Steven Beverly
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4199 posts
  • Director
  • El Paso, Texas

Posted 23 January 2006 - 10:40 PM

I am new to film and was wondering if anyone could give me a short list the most common of 35mm film stocks and what situations they would be used in and also is fast film used only with fast lenses? What is the difference between fast and regular or slow lenses? Sorry if these questions sound elementery but I'm a rookie at this. Thanks-The Captain

#2 John Pytlak RIP

John Pytlak RIP

(deceased)

• Sustaining Members
  • 3499 posts
  • Industry Rep
  • Rochester, NY 14650-1922

Posted 23 January 2006 - 10:54 PM

I am new to film and was wondering if anyone could give me a short list the most common of 35mm film stocks and what situations they would be used in and also is fast film used only with fast lenses? What is the difference between fast and regular or slow lenses? Sorry if these questions sound elementery but I'm a rookie at this. Thanks-The Captain

The Kodak website is a good place to start:

http://www.kodak.com...0.1.4.9.6&lc=en

Here are the Kodak motion picture camera films:

http://www.kodak.com...d=0.1.4.4&lc=en

And some "tools" to help decide which ones to use:

http://www.kodak.com...d=0.1.4.3&lc=en

#3 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19769 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 23 January 2006 - 11:17 PM