#1 Joe M

Joe M
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Other
  • Rochester, NY

Posted 29 January 2006 - 12:01 PM

I'm gearing up to shoot my first short this spring. There is a scene that calls for 15 people or so to have their eyes look washed out (similar to the possessed look in the Excorcist). Since there is no way my budget could accommodate special effects contact lenses I'm curious about how I would go about doing this in post. The shots would be medium and close up. I'd really like to get some quick extreme close ups but I probably won't be able to achieve enough detail since I'm not very experienced with CGI. Any tips or suggestions? Thanks in advance.

#2 Jamie Metzger

Jamie Metzger
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 773 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • San Francisco

Posted 29 January 2006 - 02:18 PM

My first thought was "rotoscoping" it in After effects.

#3 Michael Most

Michael Most
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 765 posts
  • Other

Posted 29 January 2006 - 06:43 PM

I'm gearing up to shoot my first short this spring. There is a scene that calls for 15 people or so to have their eyes look washed out (similar to the possessed look in the Excorcist). Since there is no way my budget could accommodate special effects contact lenses I'm curious about how I would go about doing this in post. The shots would be medium and close up. I'd really like to get some quick extreme close ups but I probably won't be able to achieve enough detail since I'm not very experienced with CGI. Any tips or suggestions? Thanks in advance.

A combination of keys (where available) and roto to isolate all the eyes in the shot, followed by a combination of color correction to reduce contrast and saturation, and possibly addition of reflections if available and necessary.

I woud strongly suggest handing this off to someone who does this sort of thing for a living, if possible.

#4 Joe M

Joe M
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Other
  • Rochester, NY