Advice for a beginner

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 StoneRoach

StoneRoach
  • Guests

Posted 30 January 2006 - 07:25 PM

hey everybody,
I am VERY new to film but I am hoping to get into cinematography and film editing. So far the only camera i have used is a cheapo digital camera that gives me OK results. but lately i have been shopping around looking for good starter equipment on a somewhat low budget. I will mostly been filming action sports (mt. biking, skiing, etc.). the main problem is, i have no idea what im doing. so any advice you can give me on anything would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
M-shall

#2 Joe M

Joe M
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Other
  • Rochester, NY

Posted 30 January 2006 - 08:11 PM

hey everybody,
I am VERY new to film but I am hoping to get into cinematography and film editing. So far the only camera i have used is a cheapo digital camera that gives me OK results. but lately i have been shopping around looking for good starter equipment on a somewhat low budget. I will mostly been filming action sports (mt. biking, skiing, etc.). the main problem is, i have no idea what im doing. so any advice you can give me on anything would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
M-shall

I'm new to film myself but I thought I'd throw a reply out there to see if I can help you out.

For what you want to do I'd reccommend picking up a Krasnagorsk K3 from eBay (make sure its from a reputable seller, of course), or a reflex Bolex H16. Both are fairly sturdy and cheap 16mm cameras and are great for beginners. They are both hand cranked and have short run times so I don't know if that will be a detriment to you or not.