• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Per-Hampus Stålhandske

Per-Hampus Stålhandske
  • Guests

Posted 09 February 2006 - 05:05 AM

Hi all!
This is my first post here.

I have 3 Arriflex St's. All of them have problems. Im going to tell you what kind of problems they have and hopefully get an answer that could fix on of the cameras.

I always use 30 feet rolls. I film snowboarding so the camera is often cold and i mostly shoot around 7 seconds / take. I mostly shoot 32 fps.

Camera 1:
This was my first camera. I filmed 40 rolls with it and everything was OK. Then it wouldn't always start. The power connection have some kind of glitch. 50% of the time i press the trigger it starts.

Camera 2:
I filmed a test roll with it and everything was fine. I started shooting more with it and after 2-3 rolls i noticed that the take up spool was spinning too slow. It works when i shoot around 18 fps but when i crank it up to 25-32 fps it spins way to slow. So after a shot i manually have to spin it up. And we are talking about filming for 6 seconds and then spinning it up for a minute.

Camera 3:
I got the answer from the testroll from this camera back today. The Operator said that everything looked good except that it was leaking constantly for the first 10 feet. I filmed it with vision 250d on a cloudy day outside. The 20 feet that was left of the roll looked really good, without leaks. But when I filmed this i was standing in my apartment and filming outside of the window. I did not use any camera tape. The leaks came from right and left and they came in a little bit over the TV safe area.

I guess that I have to leave them to some kind of speciallist but it's not that easy in Sweden.

If anyone of you have any tips or anything that could help me on somehow I would be very greatful!

Thanks a lot

Per-Hampus
22 from Sweden.

#2 Robert Hughes

Robert Hughes
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 873 posts
  • Sound Department
  • Minneapolis