#1 Vincenzo Condorelli AIC

Vincenzo Condorelli AIC
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 13 February 2006 - 10:00 AM

hi folks,
im an italian film student from the london film school. we're about to shoot a series of short films on 16 mm (aaton xtr camera - stock: vision 2t - 7217 kodak) and my director is driving me crazy. i'd like to submit a few issues that somehow worries me, hopefully somebody'd help me with that.
our lighting equipment is quite limited, consisting of 3 800 w redheads and a leaky photax (that im probably not going to use at all). gels are limited to ctbs, ctos, nds and diffusions. filters: nd 3, 6, 9, pola, 81 ef, 85, 85 b.

1) my director has a very colourful vision (euphemism) that he wants to pursue no matter what. actually he wants me to establish a red key light on a very small bedroom with white walls. actually we dont get red gels on our school's equipment list, however i could get them from a friend. my concern is the red look itself: isnt it going to get too soft? how should adapt my exposure reading to that?

2) he wants me to fade from black in camera. considering that the range aperture of our lenses is 2-11 does that mean that i have to establish my red key light at 2 or 2.8 and then shoot all the other shots of that scene at that exposure to keep consinstency? if yes, what would be the drawback in doing that, especially in terms of stock's latitude? besides, i'd like to have a white practical as backlight just not to have everything red, but, if im not wrong, that means that my reflective reading on him should give me an exposure of no more than 3 stops over (if i keep the key at 2, no more than 5.6 right?) otherwise when i start to fade from 11 the white practical will be already visible, isnt it?