#1 Brant Collins

Brant Collins
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Producer
  • Little Rock, Arkansas

Posted 14 February 2006 - 11:49 AM

I am a commercial producer and have done all of my work on DVCPRO, and mini dv from XL-1 to Panasonic DVX100. I have been told I am a good shooter/director and a very good editor. What I hate is when I show up to do a production clients think that since I am using a "pro sumer" camera they whant to know how much it cost so they can shoot it themselves> They never ask about lighting, audio, editing etc.

So I am ready to move up to film and break away from the DV pack(give myself a little more value). I have looked at all the Super8 vs 16mm. I have a good super 8 and will sync audio in post. Once I feel comfortable I will move to 16mm.

So here is my question..I am shooting a short how big a difference in Color reversal and color negitive. I plan on get a few rolls and doing some test but just need a little more info.(pros-cons) I will be transfering to be edited in FCP.

Please no Super 8 vs 16mm or 10bit vs SD transfers(I have read all those posts) just the film stock

Thanks

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19769 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 14 February 2006 - 12:41 PM

Color negative is more better suited for telecine transfers to video, due to its lower contrast / wider exposure latitude. However, considering the small size of the Super-8 frame, using the slowest-speed stocks that are practical is a good idea (it's a good idea in general, actually.)

Shoot color reversal if you want a higher-contrast color reversal look or want to project the original.

The problem is that Kodak has only released 200T and 500T in Super-8; slower-speed stocks like 50D and 100T have to be bought from companies like Pro8mm.