3 replies to this topic

#1 Cole Webley

Cole Webley
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 16 February 2006 - 06:35 PM

I shot this music video last summer and transferred it at a small transfer house in Utah. I am studying film at BYU and couldn't afford to go out to California and pay the big bucks...all in all pretty happy, could be better but that's what we are here to learn, right?

Let me know what I could have done better (I didn't direct--so I am asking mostly for feedback on the "look" and visual asthetics)

Cheers

-C

Here is the link:
The band is Taught Me out of Salt Lake City

http://www.provopodc...ws/TaughtMe.mp4

#2 Jeremy

Jeremy
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 16 February 2006 - 09:46 PM

Looks good. I especially like the shot of the bulb smashing.

#3 LondonFilmMan

LondonFilmMan
  • Guests

Posted 18 February 2006 - 06:13 AM

On the face of it, it was fine and I'd say nice job.

But here's a rather harsh yet humble opinion for its 2c worth...

THE MUSIC
I quite like the song. Can we call it pop? Couldn?t he sing (a little) lower when he begins with ?you are not going to know where I?m at??? Once he gets into the chorus though, his ?higher pitch? seems more appropriate somehow. Nice though? I might have thought some background harmony from either a) warm harmonists B) a kid?s choir, might have helped. (I say that based on the sound only rather than the meaning asserted through this song). By the way, was it me or did the chorus sound, for a moment, like a certain famous Irish singer who?s been quite big in the US since the 80s?

THE LOOK
Generally, it was rather limited, cold, lonely, not so interesting, and narcissistic. Sorry. Here?s why?