WHAT CAMERA FOR STARTING DIGITAL DP

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 JonathanSmith

JonathanSmith
  • Guests

Posted 27 February 2006 - 07:37 AM

Hi there!! Im very new to this site so i havent had time to search through the very informative posts but here goes. Im from London studying Film at University and im thinking of purchasing my own digital camera to start filming my own short films. I have a budget of £4000 to spend and i have not a clue what to get. Alot of people have said yeah why dont you spend the cash on a couple of short films instead of a camera but id rather buy a camera and learn from my mistakes. These are the following cameras im thinking of but i have no experience with whats good and whats bad and whats good for price wise. Please post your ideas about the cameras, and post any alternatives if you can please. Thanks again!!

JVC GY-HD101

Sony DSR-250P

Sony DSR-PD170P

Cheers

John

#2 Andrew Redd

Andrew Redd

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Dallas, TX

Posted 06 March 2006 - 05:41 PM

Hi there!! Im very new to this site so i havent had time to search through the very informative posts but here goes. Im from London studying Film at University and im thinking of purchasing my own digital camera to start filming my own short films. I have a budget of £4000 to spend and i have not a clue what to get. Alot of people have said yeah why dont you spend the cash on a couple of short films instead of a camera but id rather buy a camera and learn from my mistakes. These are the following cameras im thinking of but i have no experience with whats good and whats bad and whats good for price wise. Please post your ideas about the cameras, and post any alternatives if you can please. Thanks again!!

JVC GY-HD101

Sony DSR-250P

Sony DSR-PD170P

Cheers

John