#1 Jason_Streff

Jason_Streff
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Student
  • Frederick, MD

Posted 28 February 2006 - 10:37 PM

Sorry to ask this guys, and I did some quick searches in the forum but couldn't find it, so I thought I'd have to ask. It's such a newb question, and I hope it's so stupidly simple to you guys that you can explain it to someone like me.

I've never really had to light something for a studio look before, but I'm a doing a DV shoot (XL2) using a plain white paper backdrop. I have an Arri light kit with 2 normal size cans and 2 smaller ones. I also have some cheaper lights from Walmart that I've used in the past because they're light portable and have gotten the job done for real life location type things. However, as I said before, I've never done lighting for a "studio" look before.

I tried a 3 point setup that I've used before. 45 degree angle from left and right and a fill in the back. However, when I do this with this white background, so much light reflects off of the back and drowns out the subject, plus the lighting just doesn't look even on the background - working with normal locations is sooo much easier. I'm also having some problems with dimples in the paper backdrop that seem to catch shadows.

Please someone explain the perfect way to get nice, even, soft lighting for this type of thing. I'm thinking I might have the turn the lights 180 degrees and put a bounce card behind them or something. I don't know really.
Please, someone, help!

#2 Gordon Highland

Gordon Highland
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 261 posts
  • Director
  • Kansas City

Posted 28 February 2006 - 10:56 PM