Where to get PA or camera asst. jobs

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 9Bruin

9Bruin
  • Guests

Posted 06 March 2006 - 11:29 PM

Where are the best places to look for production assistant or camera assistant jobs? Preferably non-union stuff. I've been running a videography business for 3 years and am ready for something more substantial. How do I find it?

Any reply is a good reply.

tks

#2 Frank Barrera

Frank Barrera
  • Sustaining Members
  • 464 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 08 March 2006 - 10:06 PM

where do you live?

Edited by Frank Barrera, 08 March 2006 - 10:06 PM.

#3 9Bruin

9Bruin
  • Guests

Posted 08 March 2006 - 10:47 PM

where do you live?

West Los Angeles

#4 Tim Tyler

Tim Tyler

Administrator

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1291 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Olympia, WA (US)

Posted 09 March 2006 - 12:57 PM

You might start by stating your real name and some of the experience you have that would make you a good assistant.

#5 zrszach

zrszach
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Student
  • Olathe, Kansas

Posted 09 March 2006 - 01:32 PM

Be around people who make movies? Go anywhere that there may be a concentration of people in the business. Go to shows, expos, conferences, festivals? surround yourself with people who could possibly hire you.

#6 9Bruin

9Bruin
  • Guests

Posted 09 March 2006 - 07:51 PM

You might start by stating your real name and some of the experience you have that would make you a good assistant.

I've since added a signature to my account (just joined).

For the last 3 years I've built a family run videography business, shooting weddings and events. I've directed and shot a couple of restaurant commercials and was DP (video) for a 40min short that is currently being shopped for festivals. My work on the film is getting good reviews and the experience has made me hungry for more. I'd like to get experience on a budgeted set.