#1 Craig Agee

Craig Agee
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
  • Other
  • indianapolis

Posted 11 March 2006 - 02:15 AM

alright so im about to process my very first roll of s16 or any film for that matter.im curious what kinda workflow i should get into....i can edit a workprint although they seem to be expensive...i have no idea what my telecine options are.my questions: what telecine option would you reccomend? what is a ballpark figure for that service?...this is just a test shoot/edit to try to get an effecient workflow for projects im new to this.should i edit a workprint myself or edit on my computer?i have access to a g5 with final cut but i got a pc here with adobe premiere.prefer to use my own PC but its not a great machine for it.so yes..effeciency and cheaper is my goal but without sacrificing my $50 a roll s16 quality,is that too much to ask?

#2 Chris Keth

Chris Keth
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4427 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Los Angeles

Posted 18 March 2006 - 11:12 PM

alright so im about to process my very first roll of s16 or any film for that matter.im curious what kinda workflow i should get into....i can edit a workprint although they seem to be expensive...i have no idea what my telecine options are.my questions: what telecine option would you reccomend? what is a ballpark figure for that service?...this is just a test shoot/edit to try to get an effecient workflow for projects im new to this.should i edit a workprint myself or edit on my computer?i have access to a g5 with final cut but i got a pc here with adobe premiere.prefer to use my own PC but its not a great machine for it.so yes..effeciency and cheaper is my goal but without sacrificing my $50 a roll s16 quality,is that too much to ask?

Well, what media do you want to finish on? I think what I would do is get a one-light transfer done, edit that. Send your EDL with your negatives to a conformer to be cut. Then from that cut neg, you can do whatever you want.