#1 James Steven Beverly

James Steven Beverly
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4199 posts
  • Director
  • El Paso, Texas

Posted 14 March 2006 - 12:54 AM

I'm new to 35mm and would like advice and techniques as well as what to look for when doing a scratch test. Thanks

#2 Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4708 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Europe

Posted 14 March 2006 - 03:48 AM

I'm new to 35mm and would like advice and techniques as well as what to look for when doing a scratch test. Thanks

Hi,

Run 20 feet of film through each magazine at the speeds you are going to shoot at. Then look at the film with a bright light at 45 degrees to the film. Check both sides of the film, you are looking for any evidence that the film has been run! Any marks outside the pefs need to be investigated.

Stephen

#3 Daniel Stigler

Daniel Stigler
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 177 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Berlin, Germany

Posted 14 March 2006 - 05:52 AM

Do as Stephen told. And make shure those 20 feet of film used for each mag never ran through a camera before. After you tested the magazine throw the piece of film used away.

#4 Laurent Andrieux

Laurent Andrieux
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1527 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • France

Posted 14 March 2006 - 07:05 AM

Use a Maglite as to enough enlight the film when you examine it. Especially look by the perfs, so there is no problem with the pins hitting them.

When you get some processed film back from the lab, (your registration tests or lens calibration tests..) examine the film prior to any other manipulation. If you notice some fogging level by the perfs, may also reveal a problem with the pin hitting the perf, even though you didn't notice any scratch at the first place. (some scratches are so thin you might not see them at the first sight).

I recently had this problem with a BL 3

#5 Dan Goulder

Dan Goulder
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1259 posts
  • Cinematographer