New source for super 8 cameras

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Robert Skates

Robert Skates
  • Guests

Posted 26 March 2006 - 10:15 AM

Well here goes. I have created a website wherein I will be selling used and reconditioned super 8 cameras.

Although I've been posting for a while I've never really provided any details about myself. I am a cinematographer and former union camera assitant. Most of my time over the last several years has been spent teaching cinematography. Super 8 has been a hobby that I have, on occasion, been able to use in my professional work and in the classroom.

As a cinematography/film production instructor, I rely primarly on 16mm as a teaching tool. I've had some success in integrating super 8 as a creative tool. Invariably I have students that are impressed enough to purchase a camera of their own. Like most of us that enjoy this forum, they log on to ebay. As it is one of the few sources of super 8 cameras, my students often look there for their first super 8 camera. More often than not my students end up with a camera that is less than fully functional or DOA. My website grew out a desire to provide functioning, fully tested cameras without the guess work and finger crossing associated with buying cameras on ebay.

Take a look at my website and let me know what you think.

Robert Skates

http://www.sk8scamera.com/

#2 Alessandro Machi

Alessandro Machi
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3318 posts
  • Other
  • California

Posted 26 March 2006 - 11:29 AM

Will you be making a distinction between cameras that check out fine without being opened up versus cameras that do get opened up? Or will all cameras be opened up?

#3 Robert Skates

Robert Skates
  • Guests

Posted 26 March 2006 - 11:58 AM

Will you be making a distinction between cameras that check out fine without being opened up versus cameras that do get opened up? Or will all cameras be opened up?

Alex,