#1 Vas-VGM Studios

Vas-VGM Studios

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Camera Operator

Posted 27 March 2006 - 02:36 PM

Hi guys I am a wedding videographer based in london, im looking to purchase a new camera and need some help
Budget approx £10k
Currently use DSr 250's and have hired Dsr 570 in passed very happy with quality but like the idea of haviing monitor on the side for viewing to make sure white balance is ok
Have looked at DSR 450 DSR 400 JVc GY5100 and many others but seem to be more confused than ever :o

#2 Peter J DeCrescenzo

Peter J DeCrescenzo
  • Sustaining Members
  • 620 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • Portland, OR, USA www.peterdv.com Blog: http://herefortheweather.wordpress.com/

Posted 27 March 2006 - 06:31 PM

... Budget approx £10k. Currently use DSr 250's and have hired Dsr 570 in passed very happy with quality but like the idea of haviing monitor on the side for viewing to make sure white balance is ok. Have looked at DSR 450, DSR 400, JVc GY5100 and many others but seem to be more confused than ever :o

The DSR-450WSL 2/3" 16:9/4:3 DVCAM progressive/interlaced camcorder has a built-in color LCD monitor in addition to a hi-res B&W CRT viewfinder, and with a basic lens such as the Canon YJ19x9, it's in your price range:
http://www.creativev...ony_dsr-450wspl

I own the NTSC version of the above package. It's a fabulous camcorder. What questions do you have?

#3 Vas-VGM Studios

Vas-VGM Studios

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Camera Operator

Posted 27 March 2006 - 07:31 PM

is it a better camera than the dsr 500 and the 390?
How good is the camera under low light conditions?
I Have a JVC GY5100 and not happy with its colour reproduction is the 450 good at colour reproduction?
Is it worth spending the exra money over the 400 just for 16-9 as progressive scan is not usefull for my line of work given that on wedding videos i shhot a great deal of hand held with lots of motion?

#4 Peter J DeCrescenzo