PStalla

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Student

Posted 31 March 2006 - 09:52 AM

Hi,

I am a film student from Germany and I am writing an essay on the question, if 35mm will be completely replaced by digital capture, post, distribution and exihbition. Ok - lets get to the point. I want to define standard parameters on which one can evaluate the ability of film scanners to represent 35mm image quality.

For one thing there is resolution (oversampling and output).
Secondly one can define the bit depth of the imagine.
On the other hand I think one has to find out if the scanner can really capture the max density to min density of a 35mm frame which is a maximal difference of 1,6 (Kodaks says to be save one should measure it 2).

Are there any other parameter coming to your mind that you think should be discused?! I am open for any new influences. Last but not least -> The scanners I am talking about are: Arriscan, Cintel diTTO ,Cintel Data Mill ,FilmLight Northlight ,Imagica Imager XE ,Thomson Spirit 4k ,Kinoton Cinescan 4k ,Oxberry Cinescan 6400

Thanks for your help in advance - all the best from Germany,

Philippe

#2 John Pytlak RIP

John Pytlak RIP

(deceased)

• Sustaining Members
  • 3499 posts
  • Industry Rep
  • Rochester, NY 14650-1922

Posted 31 March 2006 - 03:31 PM

Hi,

I am a film student from Germany and I am writing an essay on the question, if 35mm will be completely replaced by digital capture, post, distribution and exihbition. Ok - lets get to the point. I want to define standard parameters on which one can evaluate the ability of film scanners to represent 35mm image quality.

For one thing there is resolution (oversampling and output).
Secondly one can define the bit depth of the imagine.
On the other hand I think one has to find out if the scanner can really capture the max density to min density of a 35mm frame which is a maximal difference of 1,6 (Kodaks says to be save one should measure it 2).