s16mm transfer to HDV

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Josh Gannon

Josh Gannon
  • Guests

Posted 12 April 2006 - 12:54 AM

I am wondering if anybody has tried to do a s16mm transfer to HDV.

As I'm still a student my projects are extreamly low budget and usually I have my negative transfer direct to DVCAM for editing.

I have spoken to my post house and they are able to do it if I bring them in a HDV deck, which is no problem. If any body has any experience with this please let me know the pros and cons.

Obviously HDV is highly compressed but I've never found DVCAM's compression that good anyway.

Thankyou.

#2 Joshua Reis

Joshua Reis
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 23 April 2006 - 09:55 PM

If you have the JVC HDV VTR, editing 720P 23.98, this may be a good option. I know most HDV decks will not record 23.98 frames since it not part of the HDV 1080 spec. Someone else may have a solution.

#3 gordon liron

gordon liron
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Other
  • studio city

Posted 24 April 2006 - 12:50 AM

I would seriously call several post houses and see which one can give you the best rate to transfer to hdcam or d4 and then do a simo transfer to HDV. If you feel pretty good about the project you are working on, you may want to consider conserving it on a reliable format. Not to knock HDV, but in comparison.....big difference to a d4 24p master which will have so much more latitude when you get color correction.

Edited by gordon liron, 24 April 2006 - 12:58 AM.

#4 gordon liron

gordon liron
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Other
  • studio city

Posted 24 April 2006 - 01:22 AM

please excuse the typo. it should say D5.....I'll just say i was drunk...sounds believable.

#5 Scott Fritzshall

Scott Fritzshall
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 584 posts
  • Other
  • Los Angeles

Posted 24 April 2006 - 02:58 AM