The Sun and a Bounce Board:

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 G . Stephen Bruno

G . Stephen Bruno
  • Guests

Posted 17 April 2006 - 07:52 PM

Hi Guys/Gals,

This really should go in Lighitng, but seeing as I'm a student, I figure i'll post it here, in advance, please excuse my newbness.

Okay, Im shooting a Music Video next month and I have some performance shots that take place in a field, I know it's cliche, but, we're going for it anyway. I plan to key from behind/side with just the sun and then use some bounce boards to fill up front, Do you think this will this be enough?

If so, should I fill from 45 degrees or straight on? My instincts tell me to go at it from 45.

Also, does anyone have any tips for lighting with automobile lights, if I were to bounce the light from the car and use that as fill, do you think that would be to intense?

Hope this makes sense. Thanks for your time.

G. Stephen Bruno

#2 Frank Barrera

Frank Barrera
  • Sustaining Members
  • 464 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 17 April 2006 - 08:43 PM

Yes, bounce from the sun will be plenty and maybe too much at times. Regardless, the bigger the source the better quality the light so a large bounce like a 12' X 12', 8' X 8' or 6' X 6' White Gryflon would be ideal. If you don't have the gear and/or man power to work that then at least a 4' X 8' White and Silver Bead Board would be good. If the clouds roll in you can try using the silver side to get more out of it. There is also the 4' X 4' mirror board bounce through a 4' X 4' frame of Opal, 250 or 216. Really you should have all of these tools to give you the most options.

In terms of the 45 degree concept I think it doesn't apply because #1 your source (the sun) will be a moving target all day long and #2 you should just adjust the bounce until it looks good to your eye and not due to some prescribed angle. After all it is a music video and artistic license is paramount.