#1 Dan Salzmann

Dan Salzmann
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1143 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Paris, France

Posted 22 April 2006 - 04:04 PM

Fed up with really low autonomy with battery belts and was wondering if anyone has ever used motorcycle batteries as an alternative. They are small and not too costly. Any experiences with this?

#2 Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4708 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Europe

Posted 23 April 2006 - 10:16 AM

Fed up with really low autonomy with battery belts and was wondering if anyone has ever used motorcycle batteries as an alternative. They are small and not too costly. Any experiences with this?

Hi,

Buy sealed lead acid batteries, the same price and don't spill acid when held upside down. About 30% of the cost of other rechargable batteries. I have been using them for the last 5 years.

Stephen

#3 timHealy

timHealy
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1252 posts
  • Other
  • New York

Posted 23 April 2006 - 12:20 PM

Don't forget to check your voltage. Motorcycle batteries can be 6 volts instead of 12.

Stephen: Have you been using them for lights, camera power, or perhaps both?

Best

Tim

#4 Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4708 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Europe

Posted 23 April 2006 - 12:51 PM

Don't forget to check your voltage. Motorcycle batteries can be 6 volts instead of 12.

Stephen: Have you been using them for lights, camera power, or perhaps both?

Best

Tim

Tim,

For camera power mainly, my Mitchell needs 15 amps @120 FPS, more in the cold! I have run monitors and Dedo lights but be careful to only discharge by half the rated amp hours. Lead acid don't like deep discharge and will die quickly if you try!

If making up voltages use identical batteries (Same make and AH rating), i.e 5 x 6volt = 30V not 2x12 +1x6

Stephen

#5 Abel Klainbaum

Abel Klainbaum
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Athens, GA