Exposure Questions

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Relentless Filmaker

Relentless Filmaker
  • Guests

Posted 26 April 2006 - 01:09 PM

Hey all I have a question for all those experienced DP's out there. I have been shooting for a few years and I of course am still a major newbie.. I have always been in the habit of overexposing by 1 stop to 1.5 stops whenever I shoot film. My stuff has always looked good, but should I try to expose perfectly to get the best image possible? Im just curious about what other guys are doing. Any info would be great!

#2 Rik Andino

Rik Andino
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 783 posts
  • Electrician
  • New York City

Posted 26 April 2006 - 02:33 PM

I have always been in the habit of overexposing by 1 stop to 1.5 stops whenever I shoot film.
but should I try to expose perfectly to get the best image possible?

Overexposing by 1-1.5 stops is good for negative film
It's however bad for reversal.

You know the old saying "If it ain't broke..."
If overexsposing is working for you why change it.

#3 Alex Wuijts

Alex Wuijts
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 26 April 2006 - 02:41 PM

Overexposing negative will result in a less grainy image because more of the smaller, less light sensitive, grains will develop due to the longer exposure.

Remember that there is no 'perfect' exposure, because it all depends on what look you're after and tastes may differ.

#4 Adam Frisch FSF

Adam Frisch FSF
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2009 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, USA

Posted 26 April 2006 - 04:13 PM

There is also the practical facts of different post routines in various countries.