Michael Ryan
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Other
  • Toronto, Canada via Huntington Beach, California

Posted 27 May 2006 - 07:27 PM

Hello All,

I shoot digital video and film on a serious hobby and sometimes semi-pro level. I've had to learn a lot
about the various elements of filmmaking as sometimes I'm the cinematographer, sound guy, lighting guy, director, guy who gets coffee...

I have realized that I'm no expert in most of these areas, but I do some better than others and I know most of the basics.

Before today, I thought I knew a lot about sound. As it turns out I know very little as there is LOTS to know about the recording of audio.

I was talking to a professional sound guy that I have coffee with from time to time and he told me he had a deal on a second hand audio recorder (he knew I was looking for something to record my film sound with). So, he told me he had a Sony TC-D5 Pro II portable audio cassette recorder. It was in great shape and he was selling it for 100.00 dollars. I said to him, "Cassette? You have got to be kidding me. Who would use an audio cassette to record anything?"

Ahhhhh. Ignorance is bliss. I'm the living proof. We went back to his home studio and he plugged a AKG mic into the Sony's XLR inputs (Yes, it had XLR jacks) and we recorded some dialog (well, me reading a book if you want to call that dialog). I listened to the play back through a pair of decent headphones (not super expensive, just average). All I could say is WOW!!!!!! After I wiped the egg off my face I reached into my pocket and pulled out 100.00 dollars.

The sound out of that Sony was incredible, really good. And I mean "good" as in it can be in any project that I'm going to sell for money good.