Shake/AE/Combustion?

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 peter orland

peter orland
  • Guests

Posted 17 June 2006 - 08:11 PM

Hi. I'm not sure where to post this so I've posted here.

I'm a camera operator by day, and a rabid movie buff/independent filmmaker by night (and weekends).

I would like to learn one of the composting programmes to add to my existing skills, mostly for keying (greenscreen), but also for all the other things that these programmes do, that I, as a novice, am unaware of at this stage.

The guys I work for have PC's running Premier and Avid Xp, and Mac's running Final Cut Studio which I can access whenever they aren't used and I'm not working. I have a basic knowledge of all three programmes for what that's worth.

The cost factor of buying the software (Shake, After Affects, Combustion) isn't that big a deal to me as they are all available at education prices, and I'm not learning it to become an operator for hire or anything along those lines.

So, if anyone could shed any light or opinions of the pro's and con's of these three in regard to usability, ease of learning, or anything else that I should know, please post away.

Thanks.

#2 Scott Fritzshall

Scott Fritzshall
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 584 posts
  • Other
  • Los Angeles

Posted 17 June 2006 - 09:46 PM

Hi. I'm not sure where to post this so I've posted here.

I'm a camera operator by day, and a rabid movie buff/independent filmmaker by night (and weekends).

I would like to learn one of the composting programmes to add to my existing skills, mostly for keying (greenscreen), but also for all the other things that these programmes do, that I, as a novice, am unaware of at this stage.

The guys I work for have PC's running Premier and Avid Xp, and Mac's running Final Cut Studio which I can access whenever they aren't used and I'm not working. I have a basic knowledge of all three programmes for what that's worth.