#1 Wai Choy

Wai Choy
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Student

Posted 26 June 2006 - 10:38 PM

Hi,

Please excuse my lack of experience with HD.

I'm an NYU film student and will be shooting a short film on color negative 16mm in a few months. I want to telecine to 1080p 24fps and edit digitally at 24fps. The camera I'll be given by NYU is a 16mm Arriflex camera which cannot shoot super 16.

Will a HD telecine of this regular 16mm film look good? I know that I'll have to compensate a lot for the frame and will lose the top and bottom of my frame.

Are there any other potential problems that I should know about?

Thank you very much. I really appreciate your help.

-Wai

Edited by Wai Choy, 26 June 2006 - 10:43 PM.

#2 Scot McPhie

Scot McPhie
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts

Posted 27 June 2006 - 05:50 AM

Well I'll admit I've never done this, so I don't really know - but it sounds to me like you're doing a good thing - just make sure you frame for the HD aspect ratio when you shoot so everything lines up right in the telecine. I'd say your main concern is make sure you shoot the 16mm right in terms of focus, exposure DOF etc, and then make sure your nle can handle the hd workflow. The film itself should look great when telecined this way.

Now someone who's done it tell us what Iv'e missed :-) ..........

Scot

#3 Joshua Reis

Joshua Reis
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 27 June 2006 - 03:08 PM