11 replies to this topic

#1 Zamir Merali

Zamir Merali
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Director

Posted 02 July 2006 - 11:17 PM

I'm pretty new to film making but I noticed that there are a lot of opinion forums going on, ie. whats your favorite shot, your favorite lighting setup, your favorite format. I think that, whats more important than all of these things is, what's your style of filmmaking? I think that every film maker has their own uniqe style like a finger print, but you actually have to think and look back to figure out what your style of filmmaking is. I personally always end up making a movie that has a dark, deep theme to it. I like to invoke emotions like sadness, unease, fear etc. I just realised this recently because no mater where the idea for my movie comes from, I always end up subconsiously twisting the story and theme so that it suits my style. So after thinking back at the movies you have made in the past what is your style?

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 03 July 2006 - 01:03 AM

Cinematographers have to be more stylistically flexible than directors because we work on so many more projects than directors, and these directors have their own stylistic tendencies that we have to incorporate.

So we tend to base a style on the particular needs of the project rather than impose a consistent overall style to everything.

That said, personal style is something that comes from who we are, how we see the world and art, our "taste". It should occur naturally, not be mechanically applied -- it's just the product of how we have trained ourselves to think.