Kyle Polensky

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Other
  • Oregon

Posted 06 July 2006 - 02:39 AM

k, i'm an amateur (currently, i am working toward a film career) whose looking at getting a pro-level camera. i've done a couple paid projects, but nothing above unimportant clubs or HS sports vid level, and all of it on tiny, cheap, plastic consumer cameras with no options. i have an entire adobe suite of programs, so editing-wise im set, but what i dont have is a good quality camera

a guy in the business i know recommended the DVX to me, and i like it a lot, but the only question i have is, is it a good camera for a first-timer to get, or should i go with something simpler? i can get it used and in great condition from a reputable guy in my area for $2,000 . . . which is very cheap, but would buying it leave me stranded with an incomprehensible object? i've never used a camera with this many options before . . . im a quick learner, but some thing can take years to learn, and i dont want this camera to sit on a shelf more than a couple weeks!

thanks for the help

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 06 July 2006 - 11:04 AM

The DVX100 is a prosumer camera -- meaning a high-end consumer camera that can be used for professional work if needed. The only thing simpler to use would be something that did less, a lower-end consumer camera.

In other words, if you can't figure out how to use a $3000 prosumer camera, you're not really destined to shoot professional work, not to be mean about it. There is a level of shooting knowledge you're going to have to obtain. So don't be so scared and start figuring it out. You figured out how to set-up and use your Adobe suite afterall.

When you said "pro-level" camera, I thought you were thinking of getting a professional video camera.