maya czep

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Student

Posted 18 July 2006 - 06:20 PM

hi everyone,

i'm a bit new to the cinematography scene so please bear with me. i'm shooting a film on reala 500D 16mm and lighting with tungsten indoors. I'm trying to create 3 different lighting situations: slightly warm soft and low key, cool soft low key, and neutral soft high key. as i am replacing a previous dp, we have very little time (if any) to do more tests. Is there a way to maximize the blue/green shadow areas in the cool light set-ups and how would this be done without mussing the skin tones? should i use an 80a AND a 1/2 blue on some of the lights to get that slightly cooler light? i'm planning to overexpose 1 stop (not incl. filter comp.) is this enough? any help would be great, thanks!

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 18 July 2006 - 06:21 PM

Why are you using 500D stock for a tungsten-lit scene?

#3 maya czep

maya czep

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Student

Posted 18 July 2006 - 08:00 PM

Why are you using 500D stock for a tungsten-lit scene?

thanks for responding! I really like the effects it gets with practicals like flourescents etc. the whole scene will be filled with various lights: clear christmas lights, halogen, flourescents, and various gelled lights. there are so many different light sources that the previous dp decided to go with 500D, so that is what i am left with.

#4 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 18 July 2006 - 08:21 PM