#1 Gunnar Kaergaard

Gunnar Kaergaard

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Student

Posted 25 July 2006 - 05:25 PM

hi! i'm a student. fortunate enough to expose 8 rolls of kodak vision 320T.
the story goes like this:
i wanted grain in my picture, i wanted a beautiful grain, a brilliant one, not just noise and blur, no, a "photographic" grain. so i made some tests, i pushed the kodak exr 50D by 3 stops. there was some nice grain there, but it wasn't really worth it. pushing by 3 stops is very expensive in berlin, and it didn't look cool enough for me to make the decision to shoot the film like this. also because the telecine couldn't keep up with the contrasts in the material. i also pushed fuji eterna 250D by 2 stops. there might have been a grain there, but it wasn't particularly obvious on the telecine-monitor. and the contrast seemed a bit out of control as well.
so i was stressed:
i want a cool grain, but i can't force the material because it'll be too contrasty for the digital postproduction, it'll look like video.
so i kind of decided not to push the material, to do my lighting (the parts i can control, anyway) fairly "mild", not too hard, so that the telecine won't turn the material into video immediately.
i asked my teacher which material is the grainiest, he said: fuji f400 and the old kodak320T.
so now i have a grainy material with low-contrast, so that i can crank it up a bit in the post, hopefully without turning into video immediatly.
now, my worries grow as the shooting comes closer. there's no more time nor money for tests. what kind of grain does this material have? is it a "sharp"/crusty grain or a bad blurry one? and what happens if i push it, just one tiny small stop, will the grain run amok, or become excactly what i want? and what happens to the contrast in this low-contrast material, will it still be telecine-compitable?? will i ruin the entire film, just because i want to push and play?

#2 Michael Nash

Michael Nash