Photo

How can I be a professional camera lady?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Jennifer Fairbanks

Jennifer Fairbanks

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student
  • Todmorden ,North Yorkshire ,England, UK

Posted 26 July 2006 - 02:39 PM

How can i be a professional camera lady? I have some experience from making a film with friends, it was intended to be a professional film - it is being edited at the moment so I dont know how good it is yet :) I am 16 and wondering whether I need qualifications for filming, If yes - then what? Also, is filming good fun? ta xxx

#2 Brian Dzyak

Brian Dzyak
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1517 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Encino, California USA

Posted 26 July 2006 - 03:59 PM

How can i be a professional camera lady? I have some experience from making a film with friends, it was intended to be a professional film - it is being edited at the moment so I dont know how good it is yet :) I am 16 and wondering whether I need qualifications for filming, If yes - then what? Also, is filming good fun? ta xxx

Question one: In general, everyone who works professionally in the film industry gets there the same way, with lots of hard work, enthusiasm, and perseverence. You have to REALLY want to do this.

Unfortunately, for women, it takes a little more than it does for men. There is nothing to say that women can't be just as qualified and skilled as men at being excellent cinematographers, but there seems to be some kind of unspoken bias against women at that level in this industry. This isn't to say that it can't be done, but anticipate more obstacles than really should be there.