#1 Polly Morgan

Polly Morgan

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • 2nd Assistant Camera

Posted 14 August 2006 - 10:22 AM

Hello! This is my first post in the forum...i have been working in camera as an assistant for 5 years and am about to shoot my first commercial on 35mm as a professional DP.

The director is calling for a rich, high contrast and grainy look. He wants it to be cinematic.

Is my best bet to shoot on 5279 for the high contrast...under expose it by one stop and then push process? He s talking about doing a work print to achieve the high contrast but is common practice for a commercial?

Should a newbie try for the desired effects chemically or should i expose a relatively flat neg and rely on post...?

Also...he wants to do some time lapse shots...if my shutter is 1/15 what compensation do i need to make?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 14 August 2006 - 12:14 PM

Pushing 5279 by one-stop isn't a bad idea; hopefully that will be grainy enough for him. I suppose you could go for a two-stop push... or use a skip-bleach process, for even more grain.

As for transferring from a print, I'd use the low-con "teleprint" stock -- it already is more contrasty than the original negative. But I'd take both the print and the neg to the telecine session just in case you aren't happy with the print.

I don't know why high-contrast and grainy is more "cinematic" than low-contrast and fine-grained though.

#3 Collin Brink

Collin Brink

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 14 August 2006 - 07:03 PM

Grain is one of the harder things to mock up in telecine, so you may be better off achieving it photochemically. Pushing a slightly older stock like '79 will give you some grain. I like to overexpose a little for the push, especially with older stocks.