#1 Zuma

Zuma
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Other
  • Melbourne Australia

Posted 14 August 2006 - 01:22 PM

I have been offered both these cameras S80 & 512XL supposedly in good working order would any one care to
comment on the pros and cons of each. I'm just getting started as an 8mm filmaker so I would appreciate
the feedback as a guide before purchase.
Cheers Zuma...

#2 Gianni Raineri

Gianni Raineri
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Other
  • London England

Posted 15 August 2006 - 05:30 AM

They are mid to lowend in the Nizo-Canon universe. Better ones exist, but snap them up to start your collection. Both are great cameras, for starting out, eventually you'll find better ones.

Starship Enterprise Captain Jame T. Kirk used a Nizo S80 in one of his missions.

Posted Image

I've got the Nizo S80, I've got other Canons, but not the 512XL. Shoot a test cartridge with both cameras, and you will be ready to go. How much? Both will give you a good system, one for Sunny and Outdoors, one for Darker Days and Indoors Available Light.

I'm into wide angle, which neither of these do, so I would get a cheap .07X or wider adaptor lens, either screw on or gaffer tape on.

Nizo will do basic time lapse,

Gianni

Sorry won't let me edit the post...

... The Nizo will do basic time lapse, stop motion, has auto and manual exposure with wide range of film speed, , a variable shutter, kind of film stock, goes manual, and becomes a parts donor to for your next better Nizo.

Gianni

#3 Gianni Raineri

Gianni Raineri
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Other
  • London England

Posted 15 August 2006 - 08:18 AM