#1 Adam Norton

Adam Norton

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Other

Posted 24 August 2006 - 06:22 PM

Okay, I'm sure these are going to be the worst Noob-like questions many of you have ever seen on this forum, but here goes...
Let me start by saying that this seems to be a place with plenty of people who know exactly what they're talking about, so hopefully you can help me out.
I will admitt that I am not a cinematographer... don't boo me yet. I AM a PHOTOgrapher however. And ever since I started shooting pictures back in highschool I was always looking for that "something special".
One crazy idea I had was to try to cross-breed some things from cinematography over to photography.

So here are a few questions that hopefully some of you can answer for me.
1) How exactly does movie film, specifically the 35mm variety, differ from 35mm used in photography?
Are they more, or less, sensitive to light? Is the quality found on movie film higher than that of regular film? And would I have much trouble finding someone who would process 2 foot long, I guess snippets compared to batches made for movies, strips?
What I always wanted to do in highschool was to buy my own bulk 35mm movie film and recut it and spool it into a 35mm canister for my slr. Anyone ever seen this done?
2) While I don't know exactly how movie cameras work I know there is a great deal that is different from the SLR's I'm used to shooting on. Since the camera shoots X number of frames per second, usually 24 if memory serves me, I was assuming all the adjustment was done with the aperature on the lens... correct?
3) I also saw on another post here on the forum where the term "shutter angle" was mentioned. Can someone explain this to me? I'm pretty proffecient with the workings of photographic cameras but I'm wondering if this can be explained as to it's function?