#1 Darren Ilett

Darren Ilett

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student

Posted 29 August 2006 - 01:57 AM

hey all i am a student at AFDA (a South Africa film school) and this is my first time using the forum.
i am about to shoot my last 3rd year film and need addvice on how to shoot a drop of water in slow mo falling into a puddle of water. i will be using a arri sr2 super 16mm camera.
Thanks Darren.

#2 Jon Kukla

Jon Kukla
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 399 posts
  • Other

Posted 29 August 2006 - 02:30 AM

Ideally you'll want a high speed SR2 so that you can really slow it down. But mainly I'd imagine you'd want a long lens to isolate a single drop, and the appropriate lighting kit to be able to properly light it for a high speed shot.

#3 Kevin Zanit

Kevin Zanit
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1223 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • LA

Posted 29 August 2006 - 02:38 AM

I don't know exactly how slow you need, but I have found the typical water drop should be at least 500 fps (even better at a 1000). This is for a shot like this: http://www.cinespeed...tropfen_320.avi (my guess was that was about a 1000).

Some fast, long lenses with a good close focus and a lot of light are what you need (other than a camera that can go fast enough of course).

Kevin Zanit

#4 Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4708 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Europe

Posted 29 August 2006 - 03:30 AM

hey all i am a student at AFDA (a South Africa film school) and this is my first time using the forum.
i am about to shoot my last 3rd year film and need addvice on how to shoot a drop of water in slow mo falling into a puddle of water. i will be using a arri sr2 super 16mm camera.
Thanks Darren.

Hi,

The faster the better, I have shot this in 35mm @360 FPS with a Photosonics camera. IMHO an srII is not going to be fast enough. A high speed SR2 @ 150 FPS would be OK but not that interesting.

Stephen

#5 Scott Bullock

Scott Bullock
  • Basic Members