john jayapaul

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 02 September 2006 - 07:58 AM

hi everyone,

I am john and I live in india. I started working as a assistant cinematographer 2 months before. please help me, I am very new to cinematography. I need to know the basics and advance techniques, filters usage, lenses, film formats and camera details etc, I was a professional photographer and now I am in this profession, please help me guys. I am in desperate need.

thanks in advance

ban

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 02 September 2006 - 09:41 AM

I'd start reading some cinematography books and then ask any specific questions here.

#3 Alessandro Machi

Alessandro Machi
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3318 posts
  • Other
  • California

Posted 02 September 2006 - 12:47 PM

hi everyone,

I am john and I live in india. I started working as a assistant cinematographer 2 months before. please help me, I am very new to cinematography. I need to know the basics and advance techniques, filters usage, lenses, film formats and camera details etc, I was a professional photographer and now I am in this profession, please help me guys. I am in desperate need.

thanks in advance

ban

If you already started working in the industry than you must realize that you can learn more in just a few days by working within it than what can be told to you on a forum. If I were to read between the lines you are concerned that you will be asked to do something that you don't know how to do or that you are not sure you are doing the right way. If that is the case then you need to find a mentor who can actually give you access to the very equipment and accessories that you will be using during an actual production.

#4 john jayapaul

john jayapaul

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 05 September 2006 - 11:28 AM

thanks for the reply guys.