1 reply to this topic

#1 Mike Nichols

Mike Nichols
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Producer

Posted 11 September 2006 - 01:05 PM

I have a quick question: I have just been hired to do a docu style interview for a magazine. They want to shoot a 2 camera setup with 2 HVX's. I have never used the camera before. I have only used DVX-100's. Also, let me preface this by saying I am NOT a cinematographer...I wouldn't even consider myself a videographer. I am a shooter. There is a difference!

What I want to know is this...Having never used the camera before, what type of package should I suggest? Is 2 cams, sticks, 4 mics (recording audio in camera) 2 mixers (do I really need them?) and a very minimal lighting kit. Is that sufficient? Also, because of P2 cards being used, I should hire 2 pa's to serve as Camera Assitants/Loaders to dump the P2 cards.

Sorry for the newb question!

#2 Tim J Durham

Tim J Durham
  • Sustaining Members
  • 742 posts
  • Director
  • East Coast, Baby!

Posted 11 September 2006 - 01:59 PM

I have a quick question: I have just been hired to do a docu style interview for a magazine. They want to shoot a 2 camera setup with 2 HVX's. I have never used the camera before. I have only used DVX-100's. Also, let me preface this by saying I am NOT a cinematographer...I wouldn't even consider myself a videographer. I am a shooter. There is a difference!

What I want to know is this...Having never used the camera before, what type of package should I suggest? Is 2 cams, sticks, 4 mics (recording audio in camera) 2 mixers (do I really need them?) and a very minimal lighting kit. Is that sufficient? Also, because of P2 cards being used, I should hire 2 pa's to serve as Camera Assitants/Loaders to dump the P2 cards.

Sorry for the newb question!

Hi,
I do these set-ups frequently so the one thing I'd suggest FIRST is to arrange a very large room for the shoot. Producers never think of that in advance.