Andre LeBlanc
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Other
  • Los Angeles

Posted 18 September 2006 - 02:21 AM

Hi all,

I'm a newbie who's shot a bit of film, and a fair amount of video. I'm wondering if anyone on this forum has ever purchased a beat up film camera (8 or 16mm) for purposes of taking it apart to learn the ins and outs. If so, was it a valuable experience? I'm sure if I were to attempt something like this, I'd ruin the camera, but I've been wondering if the process is not beneficial (or at least therapeutic). Or is it just a waste?

#2 Michael Collier

Michael Collier
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1262 posts
  • Gaffer
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 18 September 2006 - 02:36 AM

It's probably a waste unless you wanna be a camera tech. If you want to be in the creative side, watch a good movie and 'dissasemble' that. Thats the best way to learn. A camera should just work. If it doesn't, you send it to a camera tech. When I was young I took apart a camcorder (because at the time I wanted to be an electronic engeneer.) I learned some things, and now if something is going wrong in a camera, I can usually pinpoint a head missalignment from a pinch roller or slack problem. Thing is it doesn't matter. Its not my camera, so even if I know whats wrong, I still have to give it to my engeneer to fix. You can take that 16mm or 8mm and actually make a movie with it, which would be an infinatley more enlightening experience.

#3 Nick Mulder

Nick Mulder
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1023 posts
  • Other
  • Auckland, New Zealand

Posted 18 September 2006 - 04:09 AM

Hi all,